God’s got this…

As a new mother with a child starting kindergarten I quickly found myself being “that mom”. You know, the ones who obsess over who their child’s teacher is going to be. As a former teacher myself I really thought I would have handled this with a much more level head than I did. Apparently motherhood has that affect at times (can I get an Amen?!).

I’m from a small town so I know many of the teachers at my son’s school. Whenever I found out who his teacher was and realized it was a teacher I knew NOTHING about I started to freak (I’m not proud of it, but I did). All the scenarios of things I said I’d NEVER do as a mom started running through my head…..things like: I’ll call so and so or we’ll just go to private school and take care of this. Well, I didn’t do either of those things, but after a day or two of worrying I got the bright idea to stalk the teacher on Facebook (guilty!).

Get this…the very first post on the teacher’s Facebook page was an article about adoption and her status said “We love our adopted babies”. My eyes filled with tears out of relief and conviction.

My greatest worry about who Red’s teacher was going to be was whether or not she would be able to understand Red’s past (or at least show grace) and be supportive during our adoption finalization. Who knew what the year was going to hold, how he was going to cop with the adoption, and if he was going to have trouble adjusting to so many changes.

When I saw the teacher’s Facebook post about adoption I knew it was God’s way of affirming 3 things within my spirit:

  1. God cares about what worries me. (1 Peter 5:7)
  2. God is in control of every detail. (1 Chronicle 29:11)
  3. God will provide. (Philippians 4:19)

  
So far Red has had a wonderful year and LOVES his teacher. She’s been great! I wish I could tell you I haven’t worried since or at least only worried half as much since God provided with Red’s teacher, but that would be a bold face lie. Daily I have to give my worries over and trust that God is the provider He says He is and that He’s already proven to be. Thankful God loves me in-spite of my natural tendency to worry.

What causes you to worry most? What are some ways God has provided in your own life? 

2 thoughts on “God’s got this…

  1. Carolyn McCormick says:

    I am not very good at being worried (not in my spiritual DNA) but have great concerns now and then. The Heavenly Father gave me some spiritual gifts that assist me from day to day and I pray even help others learn to lean on Him. He holds the world in his hand and has taken care of all that surrounds me year after year.

    Perhaps my greatest concerns were the safety and security of my children. The devil tried to destroy my marriage, my children and me after children came in to my life. I stayed on guard, with God’s support, to fight the evil one. It is amazing to me that my children have survived and are still serving the Lord in their churches in leadership positions! This is truly an answer to prayer! Prayer us our greatest weapon against evil!! The devil seeks whom he may destroy….the word “may” tells me he has to have permission from God to go as far as his lease allows. (Remember the story of Job). I praise God that He has defeated the evil (and continues to do so) and strengthened my children for their good and that of my grandchildren. To all of you raising children, remember to lean on the Father, love your children and watch Him bring victory to your family, whatever the challenge! Have faith as God gives measure! There is victory in Jesus, my Savior forever!
    Proverbs 3:5, 6

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

